Archive for 08/17/2015


Hard to Swallow

Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear.Ephesians 4:29 (NASB)

After church, two women giggled at their rare chance of conversation in the midst of their busy lives. One of them paused for a moment and then thought, “Now, I can get this off my chest,” Pushing down guilt, she shared about how one of her friends had treated her badly. The other woman gasped, sipping her coffee in delighted horror at the fascinating details of her friend’s recounting. The ladies bonded over that trial, validating one another’s concerns and pretending for as brief moment that they themselves were never party to such pithy manipulations.

Deep down however, both women felt a tug of something else during that discussion. Joy didn’t permeate their hearts they way it did when they were in right relationship with God. The gossip that had tasted so good at the beginning was hard to swallow. The Holy Spirit inside of them was reminding them that gossip masquerading itself as righteous recounting doesn’t settle well. It ultimately leads to relationship death, not life.

Next time you are confronted with the urge to share some unsavory news about a friend or family member who has mistreated you, ask yourself if this information will be life-giving for the friend you are with, or even life-giving for you to repeat. If we feel we need to talk it out, even after God tells us to make sure our conversation is edifying, consider a more biblical and direct confrontation (see Matthew 18:15-16).

When we disobey Scripture to vent and gossip, we are telling God we don’t trust Him with the outcome of our story. We’re trying to find comfort in something that will never satisfy. Remember God is just — He can be trusted! So if you need to vent to someone, He is always available. It’s never gossip when you’re talking to Him!

Dear God, thank You for reminding me that You have something far better for me than gossip or slander. I trust You know my situation and will help me not to be overshadowed by someone else’s malicious behaviors, intended or not. You won’t let anything get in the way of the dreams You have placed inside of my heart, the things You want for me. I receive that now. You have called me toward a purity of speech, and I want to honor You in that way today and every day. So please help me to take every thought and word captive, and release them to You. Amen.

Thought:  Next time you have a chance to talk with a friend, if and when the urge to gossip presents itself, try to steer conversations to more life-giving topics. If you need to process your situation, consider going to a pastor, counselor, or someone who has no relationship with the person you are in turmoil with. Finally, don’t forget to take it to God, who is always there to listen and to offer the perfect wisdom to you.

By Christa Hardin

 

imagesCA6SGMSC

“And the Lord will bless Israel again, and make her deserts blossom; her barren wilderness will become as beautiful as the Garden of Eden. Joy and gladness will be found there, thanksgiving and lovely songs” (Isaiah 51:3).

When the editors of a Christian publication came to Arrowhead Springs sometime ago to interview me, the discussion turned to the subject of problems in the Christian life. They were skeptical when I explained my way of handling difficult circumstances, potential sources of anxiety and frustration.

As you will note from this verse in Isaiah, thanksgiving is a spiritual way of singing to the Lord. As we sing with a thankful heart, we receive the joy of the Lord in return.

So it was that I explained to the editors: “Many years ago I learned to obey God’s command to be thankful in all things as an act of faith. And since I am assured from God’s Word that He rules in the affairs of men and nations, that He is all wise, all-powerful and compassionate and that He loves me dearly, I would be very foolish indeed to worry about my problems, cares and tribulations even for a few moments. I cast them upon the Lord as soon as they are brought to my attention.

“For example, I can list at least 25 major problems that I have given to the Lord today – some of which would crush me and destroy my effectiveness if I tried to carry them myself.”

Then I recalled an earlier week beset with illness, surgery and bereavement for loved ones and friends. “But,” I told them, “I chose to obey the Lord’s command to give them all to Him, and to retain a thankful spirit.”


Bible Reading: Ephesians 5:18-21


TODAY’S ACTION POINT: I will trust God’s Holy Spirit to establish a thankful spirit in my heart and life today and every day as a way of life.

Psalms 52:8

Meditate a little on this steadfast love of the Lord. It is tender love. With gentle, loving touch, He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds. He is as gracious in the manner of His steadfast love as in the matter of it. It is great steadfast love. There is nothing little in God; His steadfast love is like Himself-it is infinite. You cannot measure it. His mercy is so great that it forgives great sins to great sinners after great lengths of time and then gives great favors and great privileges and raises us up to great enjoyments in the great heaven of the great God.

It is undeserved steadfast love, as indeed all true mercy must be, for deserved mercy is only a misnomer for justice. There was no right on the sinner’s part to the kind consideration of the Most High; had the rebel been doomed at once to eternal fire he would have richly merited the doom, and if delivered from wrath, sovereign love alone has found a cause, for there was none in the sinner himself. It is rich steadfast love. Some things are great but have little efficacy in them, but this steadfast love is a tonic to your drooping spirits, a golden ointment to your bleeding wounds, a heavenly bandage to your broken bones, a royal chariot for your weary feet, a bosom of love for your trembling heart.

It is manifold steadfast love. As Bunyan says, “All the flowers in God’s garden are double.” There is no single steadfast love. You may think you have only one steadfast love, but you will find it to be a whole cluster of mercies. It is abounding steadfast love. Millions have received it, but far from its being exhausted, it is as fresh, as full, and as free as ever. It is unfailing steadfast love. It will never leave you. If mercy is your friend, mercy will be with you in temptation to keep you from yielding, with you in trouble to prevent you from sinking, with you in living to be the light and life of your countenance, and with you in dying to be the joy of your soul when earthly comfort is ebbing fast.

 

Family Bible reading plan