Archive for 04/27/2024


CAN GOD BE TRUSTED?

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.- PROVERBS 3:5-6

Can God be trusted in the midst of suffering and hopelessness?

Recently, I spoke with a lady who has been suffering for over twenty years. I asked her if she believed God would heal her. Her voice became quite low as she said “I am sorry but I cannot right now”.

Have you lost hope that God will turn around your situation?

The author of Proverbs 3 exhorts us to trust in the Lord with all our hearts and not to lean on our own understanding. There is no doubt in my heart that God is trustworthy. We can trust him in the midst of suffering and hopelessness. We can trust him when our hearts are broken. We can trust him when we are grieving the loss of a loved one. We can trust him at all times and in all circumstances.

What is the basis for my confidence?

As an auditor, my work involved providing reliable and sufficient evidence. The Scriptures provide such evidence that God can be trusted. Let us consider three persons in the Bible who relied on God’s character and ability to fulfill his word.

Abraham – God fulfilled His promise and gave him a son in his old age. Though Abraham did take matters into his own hands at one point, resulting in the birth of Ishmael, in the end, he did not waver in believing the promise.

David – He experienced dangers, desertion and disappointments. Yet in Psalm 13 he declared his confidence in God’s unfailing love, despite his feelings of sadness and abandonment. He knew God was trustworthy.

Job – In the midst of devastation, Job declared “Though he slay me, yet will I trust him.” (Job 13:15 NKJV) Job knew that his waiting would not be in vain.

They all relied on God’s character and ability to fulfill his word.

Personally, I recall two situations where God demonstrated that he is trustworthy. On the day before I wrote the tax exam to obtain my accounting designation, the Holy Spirit said: “Trust me like you have never trusted me before.” On the day of the exam, I did not know how to answer any of the questions but based on his word, I trusted him. He granted me success. In 2016, I lost my job and the Holy Spirit said to me “there is absolutely no need to apply for any other jobs.” At first I questioned, but then I chose to rest and wait on him. He did not disappoint me.

I am confident of God’s trustworthiness.

Are you willing to trust God when you do not understand? He is trustworthy. He is unchanging. He can be trusted!

Father, please help me to know that You are trustworthy. I want to believe that you will hear my cry. It is sometimes difficult to believe that you care about me. Help my unbelief. I want to focus on who you are. In the name of Jesus I pray Amen.

Throughout this day: Read Proverbs 3:5-6 several times until your heart is captured by the truth.

Sometimes all we need in the chaotic moments of life is a little time to hear from our Father.

Psalms 19:7-8

The world we live in is loud—even deafening at times. But the peace of God’s Word turns down the noise, offering tranquil truth and beauty in place of clamor. Psalms 19:7-8 is a reminder that Scripture provides us with wisdom and clarity by:

Restoring the Soul. God’s Word has everything our wounded and weary souls need. When life’s struggles wear us down, it brings restoration by providing comfort, hope, and renewal.

Making Wise the Simple. The insight and guidance contained in Scripture surpass worldly knowledge. God’s wisdom is not exclusive to the educated or elite but is offered to anyone willing to receive it.

Rejoicing the Heart. The precepts of the Lord are right, reminding us of our identity and purpose in Christ. This brings lasting joy in a world filled with temporary pleasures.

Enlightening the Eyes. The commandment of the Lord is pure and teaches us spiritual truths. When we seek God’s guidance in His Word, we gain clarity and perspective, which help us navigate through confusion and darkness.

God’s Word is truly a precious and beautiful gift—it is a source of strength and a light for our path.

The Lord is king forever and ever.

Psalm 10:16

Jesus Christ is not a tyrant claiming divine right, but He is really and truly the Lord’s anointed! “For in him all the fullness of God was pleased to dwell.”1 God has given to Him all power and all authority.

As the Son of man, He is now head over all things in His church, and He reigns over heaven and earth and hell with the keys of life and death at His belt. Certain princes have been glad to call themselves kings by the popular will, and certainly our Lord Jesus Christ is such in His church. If it could be put to the vote whether He should be King in the church, every believing heart would crown Him. We ought to crown Him more gloriously than we do! We would regard no expense too great if we could glorify Christ. Suffering would be pleasure, and loss would be gain, if through that we could surround His brow with brighter crowns and make Him more glorious in the eyes of men and angels. Yes, He shall reign. Long live the King! All hail to You, King Jesus! Go on, you virgin souls who love your Lord. Bow at His feet; cover His path with the lilies of your love and the roses of your gratitude: “Bring forth the royal diadem, and crown Him Lord of all.”

Our Lord Jesus is King in Zion by right of conquest: He has taken the hearts of His people by storm and has defeated their enemies who held them in cruel bondage. In the Red Sea of His own blood, our Redeemer has drowned the Pharaoh of our sins: Shall He not be Lord and King? He has delivered us from sin’s dominion and from the heavy curse of the law: Shall not the Liberator be crowned? We are His portion, whom He has taken out of the hand of the enemy with His sword and with His bow: Who will snatch His conquest from His hand? All hail, King Jesus! We gladly own Your gentle sway! Rule in our hearts forever, You lovely Prince of Peace.

1) Colossians 1:19